The Department became the Faculty of Applied Physics in 1952 and was renamed the Department of Applied Physics in 1979. The Department offers three M. Tech. Courses i) Laser & Electro-Optics, ii) Sensors Technology, and iii) Optical Communication and Photonics. The programmes train young students and defence officers (DRDO, Armed Forces, and DPSUs). Department has a strong Ph. D. programme and offers an excellent research programme in nanotechnology, Laser and Photonics, Material Science, Sensors Technology, and Renewable Energy. The faculty is well qualified with vast experience in various fields of Applied Physics. Please click the link below for detailed information on the Department of Applied Physics website.