Defence Institute of Advanced Technology, Pune


Established u/s 3 of the UGC act 1956. 

MHRD, Government of India  has placed DIAT (DU) in Category 'A' Deemed University  & 'NAAC' and NBA Accredited

(An Autonomous Organization, Department of Defence Research & Development, Ministry of Defence, Govt. of India)


About Us

Organizational Structure


General Body

Position held  Designation
Hon’ble Raksha Mantri, Govt. of India President
Secretary, Defence R&D, New Delhi Vice President 
CC (R&D)HR, New Delhi Member
CISC, IDS HQs, New Delhi Member
Addl FA(R&D) & JS, DRDO, New Delhi Member
DHRD, DRDO HQs, New Delhi Member
Vice-Chancellor, DIAT, Pune Member Secretary


Governing Council

Position held Designation 
Secretary Defence (R&D) Chairman
CC (R&D) HR, DRDO, New Delhi Member
COP, IHQ of MoD(Navy) Member
AOP, Air Force Hqs Member
DCOAS/Rep, IHQ of MoD(Army) Member
Addl FA (R&D) & JS, DRDO, MoD Member
Dr Uday P Desai, Director, IIT Hyderabad Member
Dr. Indranil Manna, Professor, IIT Kharagpur Member
Vice Chancellor, DIAT Member Secretary


Board of Management (BoM)

Sr.No. Name Position held Designation
1 Dr. Hina Gokhale  Vice Chancellor, DIAT (DU), Pune Chairperson
DG, R&D, DRDO, HQ Rajaji Marg, New Delhi -110011 Member
2 Shri Subir Mallick Addl. FA (SM) & JS, DRDO,HQ Rajaji Marg, New Delhi -110011    Member
3 Prof. Dipankar Banerjee Professor,Department of Materials Engineering,  Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore Member
4 Prof. S. K. Koul,Professor Centre for Applied Research in Electronics, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi New Delhi-110016 Member
5 Prof Pravas R Mahapatra Former Professor, Department of Aerospace Engineering, IISc Bangalore Member
6 Dr. Ranjit Date UGC / MHRD Rep Nominee President and Joint Managing Director, Precision Automation  & Robotics India Ltd. Member
7 Prof. A. Kumaraswamy Dean (Technology)  DIAT (DU), Pune Member
8 Prof. K. P. Ray HoD, Deptt of EE and CSE DIAT (DU), Pune Member
9 Prof. S. N. Kale Dean (Students Affairs) DIAT (DU), Pune Member
10 Dr. Krishna Murthy Somanchi  Associate Professor and HoD, Applied Mathematics Member
11 Dr. P. S. Alegaonkar Assistant Professor, Dept of Applied Phy, DIAT (DU) Member
12 Cmde (Retd) A K Sinha  Registrar, DIAT (DU) Pune



Planning and Monitoring Board (PMB)

Name Position held   Designation 
Dr. Hina Gokhale (Addl charge) Vice Chancellor, DIAT Chairman (Ex-officio) 
Dr S G Dhande Director (Retd) IIT Kanpur  Member/  UGC Rep 
Dr. Swarna Kanti Ghosh Centre Director, NCRA-TIFR, Pune Member 
Shri Alok CCE (R&D) West, DRDO, Pune  Member/  UGC Rep
Prof. A Kumaraswamy  HoD, Mechanical Engineering Member/  UGC Rep
Dean (Technology),DIAT (DU), Pune Member/  UGC Rep
Prof. P. K. Khanna  Dean (Applied Sciences), DIAT (DU), Pune  Member/  UGC Rep
HoD, Applied Chemistry  Member/  UGC Rep
Dr. Unnikrishnan HoD, Applied Physics  Member/  UGC Rep
Prof. K. P. Ray HoD, Computer Engineering Member/  UGC Rep
Shri. Ramesh Jahagirdar Finance Officer, DIAT Member/  UGC Rep
Cmde (Retd) A K Sinha Registrar  Secretary/  UGC Rep



Academic Council

Sr. No. Name Designation Description
1 Dr. Hina Gokhale Vice Chancellor Chairperson
2 Prof. R K Shevgaonkar Professor, IIT Bombay Member
3 Maj Gen RS Shekhawat, SM, VSM ACIDS (TRADOC), HQ IDS, New Delhi Member
4 Dr. Ashok Kumar DHRD, DRDO HQ, New Delhi Member
5 Prof. P. K. Khanna Dean (Applied Science), HoD, Applied Chemistry Member
6 Prof. A. Kumaraswamy Dean (T) & HoD, Mech Engg Member
7 Prof. Sangeeta Kale Dean (SA) Member
8  Prof. K. Balasubramanian HoD, Metallurgical & Materials Engg & HoD, Tech Mgmt Member
9 Dr. Unnikrishnan G HoD,   Aerospace Engineering Member
10 Dr. Ajay Misra HoD,   Aerospace Engineering Member
11 Dr. Somanchi Krishna Murthy HoD, Applied Mathematics Member  
12 Prof. K P Ray HoD, Dept of Elec Engg & HoD, Comp Sci & Engg Member
13 Prof. S K Panigrahi Professor, Dept of Mechanical Engg Member
14 Prof. S K Das Professor, Dept of Applied Mathematics Member
15 Dr. K Krishna Naik Assistant Professor Electronics Engg Member
16 Dr. Shaibal Banerjee Assistant Professor Applied Chemistry Member
17 Dr. S. Sirurmath Librarian Member
18 Dr. D. G. Thakur Controller of Examinations Member
19 Shri Ramesh Jahagirdar Finance Officer Member
20 Atul Kumar Sinha Cmde (Retd) Registrar Secretary


Finance Committee 

Sr. No. Name Position held Designation
1 Dr. Hina Gokhale Vice Chancellor –DIAT (DU) Chairman
2 Shri Subir Mallick Addl. FA & JS (R&D), DRDO HQ Member
3 Shri Ashok Kumar Director- HRD, DRDO HQ Member
4 Prof. A Kumaraswamy  Dean (Technology) Member
5 Cmde Atul Kumar Sinha (Retd)  Registrar Member
6 Shri  Ramesh A Jahagirdar  Finance Officer Member Secretary 


President (Ex-Officio)

Last Updated on Thursday, 24 May 2018 10:29